Messages from the Premier and Director-General
Foreword by Premier Alan Winde

When I travel the length and breadth of our province, I often make a point of visiting facilities for which we are responsible. When I arrive at a clinic, hospital, or eCentre, there must not be tea and muffins waiting for me. I make a point of doing unannounced visits so I can see and experience for myself the quality of the services we offer our citizens. Where there are challenges, I urge the Western Cape Government staff I engage with to be honest with me so we can collectively address shortcomings. In cases where our facilities are excelling, I encourage staff to be proactive in seeking out ways to further improve our services.  

Read more


Premier Alan Winde
Dr Harry Malila
Preface by DG Dr Harry Malila

The Service Excellence Awards provide an opportunity for us to recognise excellence and our top achievers in the Western Cape Government, Western Cape Municipalities and in the wider community. A record 146 entries were received this year. The Service Excellence Awards are designed to encourage and promote excellence in governance and service delivery and to recognise people who have lived the WCG Values: Caring, Competence, Accountability, Integrity, Innovation and Responsiveness. 

Read More

pattern left


View All
Group 890

Best Frontline Service Delivery Employee

Group 891

Best Frontline Service Delivery Team

Group 893

Best Municipality

Group 892

Best Municipal Project

Group 896

Best Public Service Leader (Exemplary)

category img

Best Support Service Employee

Group 898

Best Support Service Team

Group 896

Best Red Tape Reduction / Ease of doing Business Project

Group 889

Best Collaborative Programme/Project (WOSA/WOGA)

Group 894

Best Public Service Innovator (Employee)

Group 895

Best Public Service Innovator (Team / Project)

medallion category img

Best Citizen Performance (Team / Project)

Group 887

Best Citizen Performance (Individual)

Awards 2020

2020 Service Excellence Awards

Awards 2023

2023 Service Excellence Awards